Home > Venting, Video > Happy Holidays, my ass!

Happy Holidays, my ass!

My Holiday has been ruined … ruined, I tell ya!

It all started with a trip to the grocery store. As I was walking in, I noticed all the signs and displays said “Seasons Greetings” and “Happy Holidays”.  The special foods for this time of year said “Holiday this” or “Holiday that“. Nowhere was there any mention of My Holiday!

Then, to make matters even worse, when I finally got to the register, my cashier said, “Happy Holidays!” to me! That was it – the last straw!

WTF is wrong with people today?! I mean, really … all this political correctness bullshit has gotten out of hand! Can’t they tell just by looking at me what My Holiday is, and greet me accordingly?!  Is that asking for too much?!

People should address me by what My Holiday is!  I don’t care what other people celebrate. So what if my cashier celebrates a different holiday than I do?! She should still be required to acknowledge My Holiday, damn it!

Everyone knows that My Holiday celebration starts in October and doesn’t end until January! My Holiday is the only important holiday during that time! People only go shopping for My Holiday during that time! That’s the tradition here in this country, and if you think differently, then you aren’t patriotic!

I’m sick and tired of people from other countries coming here and telling me what I can and can’t do when it comes to My Holiday! You don’t see us going to their country and telling them what to do!

My Holiday tradition is the oldest tradition in this country, and that’s the way it should be! This country was founded on the tradition of My Holiday!

The whole reason for the season is My Holiday! If you don’t like it, that’s just tough shit! Deal with it!

So I’ve decided what I’m going to do about it. I’m going to bitch and whine to anybody that will listen, about how everyone else has declared war on My Holiday!

I’m going to fill my status messages on Facebook with complaints about people not acknowledging My Holiday! And nobody had better dare contradict me, because I know better than everyone else what My Holiday traditions are about!

I might even start a “Cause” on Facebook, demanding that everyone must acknowledge My Holiday! Then I’ll send it to everyone on my Friend List, asking them to join the “Cause”, too. And I don’t care if my friends don’t celebrate My Holiday. It’s not my fault that they celebrate the wrong holiday! They’re not acknowledging My Holiday, so why should I be respectful of theirs?

§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§


This is a work of satire. If you didn’t recognize that, then you are part of the problem!

This could have been about anyone in any country. But I will admit that it’s typically the type of stupidity that comes from Christians who think they have a monopoly on the December holidays.

So, for those Christians who have zero respect for anyone of any other religion who might celebrate a holiday other than Christmas (or no holiday at all), I have a special message for you:

  1. December 12, 2010 at 9:17 am

    This is great. The video is priceless. Ran into a blog on Friendburst just the other day where a Christian was moaning about no longer being in the majority and being under attack. In what world?

    • December 12, 2010 at 5:51 pm

      I ask that question all the time – “In what world?” These people really are clueless drones, incapable of seeing anything outside of their version of reality.

  2. December 12, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    Dear Shelli, I find this time of year very hard to deal with. To many people spending money they don’t have. Based on all the television ads people are supposed to spend that money. The next problem for me is every one wishing me a Happy Christmas. I don’t want to be rude but I don’t believe in Christmas or any other religious holiday. This may have been satire but it also has some serious truths. Peace, howie

    • December 12, 2010 at 5:55 pm

      That was the whole point of this, Howie: to reveal those ugly truths. Everything I wrote was taken from things I’ve personally heard or read from people whining about their religion being “under attack” or not acknowledged. Ridiculous things that don’t even make logical sense, like the “people from other countries” statement.

  3. The Coded Atheist
    December 25, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    It’s a war on Festivus, I tell ya! Damn you anti-Festavians!!!

    • December 25, 2010 at 8:23 pm

      No soup for them!

  4. January 3, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    I respect a person’s right to believe whatever they choose.. it doesn’t matter to me if you believe in the God I do, Allah, a lollipop or nothing. It’s your choice. I worry about mine and let other people worry about theirs… so why is it SO important for people to want to insist that I am wrong? If I live my life believing in Jesus Christ.. if I live my life with the desire to reach the Heaven of my faith and you don’t.. so what? Why is it so bothersome? Am I hurting you? The American Atheists erect a billboard denouncing Christianity during Christmas and that’s fine.. but when the Catholic Association put up their own billboard in rebuttal.. everybody cried foul.. (and no, I’m not Catholic).. why? Where is the tolerance for my faith? Where are the tolerances for my beliefs?

    • January 4, 2011 at 2:16 am

      Leese!! HI!! Long time! Great to see you again. :-)

      You may be in the minority. Most “christians” that I know and encounter are continually trying to shove their religion in everyone’s faces. The proselytizing is out of control. As an Atheist, I’m fighting back. I’m tired of the status quo in this country. I’ve actually been working on a blog about the double standards, and I hope to have it finished soon. In the meantime, take 5 minutes to watch this video; it answers the question, “Why Atheists care about your religion.”

      As for the billboard put up by the Catholic Association, I haven’t yet heard of anyone crying foul over it. Personally, I get a laugh out of it. ;-)

      If you want, I post a blog every year about the “war on christmas”. Last year’s blog somewhat answers your questions.

      Anyway, it’s great to see you again! I’ve been going through lots of stuff lately, and haven’t had time to read much of anyone’s blogs. I hope to rectify that soon. :-)

  5. January 4, 2011 at 11:04 am

    Hey Shelli!!!

    I know what you mean about “stuff” .. we’ve been going through it ourselves since we last spoke.. we had to close our store and we’re actually moving to west virginia at the end of the month .. we were trying to find something in your area initially but with all the gas workers coming in further north, rental prices have sky rocketed..!! We’re moving to a village (pop 591!!) and is heavily Christian so I don’t suppose you’ll be visiting!! ROFLMAO!! But if you ever want to, I’ll make sure I keep them off our front porch!!

    But in all seriousness, I realize that I am in the minority.. and I am as opposed to “Bible Thumpers” as you are (they who do NOT practice what they preach or banish everyone to hell who don’t follow their doctrine .. like, um, the catholics?? LOL).. and to be perfectly honest, my friend, I really don’t care why Atheists care about my religion.. it’s no ones business but mine what is in my heart and how I live my life.

    But glad to see that we’re adult enough to agree to disagree!! Mad love to you and the fam!!

    • January 5, 2011 at 8:41 pm

      Leese! :-)

      I’m glad you commented back. I find that I tend to lose friends over the religion issue. Hell, I lose family over it, too! LOL

      I haven’t noticed rental prices in my area change any in the past few years. It’s a shame you didn’t let me know, I would have put you in touch with my landlord. He can find anything you want in any price range you want. But wow, WV? I’m sorry you had to close your store. That really sucks. :-( One of these days I’ll be heading to Morgantown WV to visit a dear old friend; I wouldn’t mind coming to visit you if it’s not too far out of the way. Christian neighbors or not. LOL Just so long as all 591 of them don’t thump at me, I’m good. ;-)

      Yes, we can agree to disagree. ♥ Just remember who’s got your back when the thumpers are trying to enact laws based on their religious beliefs, that may be in direct conflict with you living your life the way you want. ;-)

  6. January 5, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    Don’t worry Shelli, I have never lost a friend over religion and don’t intend to start!! I think we will be a little out of your way.. Morgantown is about 2 hours south east from where we will be at ( we’re 37 miles west of Pittsburgh) .. however.. if you and the fam ever wanted to come out for vacation, then we will have an RV set up for visitors to stay in!

    Anyway.. LOL.. I have to ask this .. other then maybe sodomy laws, which laws have been enacted based on any religious beliefs? not being argumentative.. just curious.. learning is fundamental to my opinion forming!

    • January 5, 2011 at 10:44 pm

      Glad to know you’re not turned away by religious discussion. :-) If we ever get to Pittsburgh to visit relatives, then maybe we’ll be able to visit you.

      Well, to answer your question: abortion, blue laws, adultery, sex acts in the privacy of your own home, womens (and minorities) rights, marriage, tax exemptions – just to name a few. The video I posted also talks about other laws based on religious beliefs. Also, look at the FEDERAL holidays that are all based on christian beliefs. You don’t see a FEDERAL holiday for Hanukkah or Kwanzaa. I can’t imagine being Jewish, forced to work on their holiday, but their place of business being closed on christian holidays. In our country, the christian religious right has run roughshod over everyone else. It’s time for it to end.

      Without differing views, nobody would learn anything. Imagine if we all thought the same … we’d all still believe the Earth is flat and the Sun revolves around the Earth. Thankfully, we had people who thought differently, and pushed for their views to be heard. ;-)

  7. January 6, 2011 at 1:49 am

    ok… this is going to be fun. I am really enjoying this!

    Abortion laws? Well, that’s particularly Christian.. sure, some Christians don’t believe in abortion but I can introduce you to many non-Christian and non-religious people who don’t believe in abortion either. But let me ask you this.. if a woman is pregnant when murdered, the murderer is charged with the killing the mother AND the baby.. paradox, huh? Ok.. how many blue laws are still enforced? None that I can think of but I’m in the city so maybe that’s the reason .. I also don’t think adultery can be lumped in there because, as an atheist, are you okay with adultery? Everyone .. regardless of their religious affiliation is off on Christmas.. and I could argue that Christmas is so NOT about the birth of Christ anymore but had become secular.. so what other Christian holidays are you referring to? So let’s say when I owned my store and I closed for Easter.. better yet.. let’s say that I was a Druid and closed for a Druid holiday.. is that offensive? Is it not my right as a business owner (regardless of my personal religious belief) to close when I want to? And if a customer is offended because I closed on a Druid holiday, don’t they have the right to spend their money elsewhere? It’s funny that you say the Christian religious right has run roughshot over every one else and it’s time for it to end because from my point of view, this country is quickly removing Christianity from everything.. even though this country was built on Christianity, I think more need to look at “natural law” instead of being convinced that Christianity itself is the source of all the things they disparage.

    Oh. tax exemptions. Please explain that one because if you’re going to say that churches are tax exempt, so are all other houses of worship and non-profits so I’m a little confused on that one.

    At any rate, as I said to someone else not too long ago, you can try to remove Christianity from every single thing but you won’t remove it from the hearts of the faithful and that’s where it is most important.

    Oh gosh.. one more thing that I wanted to ask you.. I was on the American Atheists website because you know me, I like to be educated. What I found was all their t-shirts and bumper stickers and buttons and the whatnot seem directly opposed to God (not any other higher being) so wouldn’t that make them more agnostic then atheist?

    • January 11, 2011 at 6:51 am

      Sorry Leese! Life got in the way again. I’ll be back soon to answer this. Just didn’t want to leave ya hanging. :-)

    • January 16, 2011 at 6:15 am

      Ok, finally have a few spare minutes to dive into this one head first. I’ll try to give answers with the least amount of words possible. (yeah, right, coming from me?! LOL)

      Let me start off that saying that I don’t agree with abortion in most cases myself. But for me, it’s nothing to do with religion. It’s because I abhor women using abortion as a means of birth control. BUT, it is not my place, nor is it anyone else’s, to tell a woman what she can and can’t do with her body. The religious are trying everything in their power to criminalize abortion, even in cases of rape/incest or if the mother’s life is in jeopardy, for religious reasons. Just a couple of weeks ago, this point was proven by St. Joseph’s Hospital in Phoenix, AZ. There are also the “Personhood” amendments being filed in several states by … you guessed it … religious groups. They are trying everything in their power to undermine Roe vs. Wade, and inject their religious beliefs into law.

      You asked:

      “But let me ask you this.. if a woman is pregnant when murdered, the murderer is charged with the killing the mother AND the baby.. paradox, huh?”

      Actually, that’s not contradictory to the argument of choice. The reason that the person is charged with a double murder is because the woman wasn’t given a choice, and it’s legally assumed that she wanted to carry her baby to term. Even if she were on her way to have an abortion – until it was actually done, she could have changed her mind.

    • January 16, 2011 at 6:44 am

      I’ve decided to break this down into separate replies, so that each one is a bit shorter.

      Blue laws. 14 states still prohibit alcohol from being sold on Sundays. And guess what … WV is one of them. ;-) [source] Other Blue Laws include car dealerships not being able to sell on Sundays (13 states including PA), hunting, horse-racing, and selling clothing or furniture (in Bergen County, NJ). Also, a little tid-bit that not many people know, the Amish aren’t allowed to spend money on Sundays, not even for emergencies!

      As for adultery, you might be surprised to know that I was in an open relationship for 9 years. And my current Husband and I have talked about the possibility of adding other partner(s) (it’s a new concept to him). So, I guess you’d have to define adultery. Most people see that kind of lifestyle as adulterous. Adultery to me, is going in secret behind your spouse’s back. And I don’t include anyone in that definition but those who are married or in long-term committed relationships.

      Tax exemptions. Yes, churches and non-profits are exempt from taxes. However, that comes with a caveat: they are not allowed to participate in politics. Yet, many do, and aren’t held accountable for that. Look at Westboro Baptist Church. Prime example. (I shouldn’t have to even link to this one, but here, anyway.)

      As far as the American Atheists website, I can’t speak for them. But keep in mind, the 3 most prominent religions are the Abrahamic religions: Christian, Jewish and Muslim. They all believe in the same god. All the Atheists I know are atheist to all gods. Even you, Leese, are an atheist to all gods but the one you believe in. I’m just atheist to one more god than you. ;-) Agnostics are those who don’t make any claims one way or the other.

    • January 16, 2011 at 8:04 am

      Now, back to the topic of Christmas, which is at the heart of this blog.

      You said:

      “Everyone .. regardless of their religious affiliation is off on Christmas” and “so what other Christian holidays are you referring to?”

      Which actually aligns with exactly what I was saying in the first place. Why should Jews have to be off to observe a day that’s not theirs to observe? No religious holidays should be a FEDERALLY forced day off. No banking, no post office, no government offices, public schools, etc. … not for a religious holiday. Do Jews or Buddhists or even Druids have a choice to not do their banking, or not call a government office because of a Christian holiday? If a private business wants to be open or closed on their holiday of choice, that’s their choice. But our government has no business telling a business (like banks) that they can’t operate on certain days of the year for religious reasons. Yet they do. How would you react if your business was told it couldn’t operate on a certain day, to observe a religion you don’t believe in?

      As for the other holidays: besides Christmas – Easter and Good Friday (schools).

      For the rest, I’m beginning to sound like a broken record. I’ve personally known 1 Christian who knows the history of our country, and 1 Christian who knows the history of Christmas (and she tells me that her church is actually very open about the real history … I believe she’s Methodist).

      I’ve previously blogged about the fallacy that our country was founded as a “Christian nation“. I urge you to read that before reading the rest of this. Then, I really urge you to do some research on the religious beliefs of our founding fathers. Most were deists, some were pantheists, some were Atheists and some were Christians. Of particular note, the Treaty of Tripoli is something you should research. I won’t provide you with any links here, so you don’t think that what I’m giving you is biased in any way. Your public library would be a good place to look, as well, for the history of our country with regards to religion.

      As for the history of Christmas, I’m always shocked that Christians are uninformed about it. But then I remember, they are only going by what their church has told them, and I don’t remember my church ever telling me anything about the history of any of the religious holidays (especially if it didn’t fit in with their dogma). When my friend recently told me that her church was open about the history, you could have picked me off the floor with a spatula … I was that stunned!

      Again, I urge you to do your own research. Ask your church (if you go) to explain to you what the tree, mistletoe, yule logs, feasts, stockings, wreaths, holly and caroling have to do with the holiday. Ask about Mithras and Saturnalia. Ask about the Romans and Christianity in general. Ask about the date it’s celebrated on.

      To sum it up, Christmas was never originally about the “birth of Christ”. It was always a secular holiday. It wasn’t even called “Christmas” until hundreds of years after the holiday was hijacked by the Romans, and not until Catholics got involved. Again, I’m not providing links. This is something that everyone that considers themselves to be a Christian should research on their own. Hell, it’s something that everyone should know, regardless of their religious beliefs. (though, ironically, it’s usually the Atheists who are the most educated about religion in general)

      Oh, and while you’re at it, you might want to look up Easter traditions, as well as the resurrection story. ;-) (I will give you one link, as a jumping off point for your research. But only so I don’t have to list all of the names.)

      If you still have questions, or really want to discuss your research, you know how to find me (do you still have my number? email me if you’d like it again).

      Happy researching! :-)

  8. January 6, 2011 at 1:52 am

    Sorry.. the first line should have been “.. not particularly Christian” .. sometimes my brain moves faster then my fingers!! LOL!!

    You definitely have to come visit when you’re in Pittsburgh! Even for the day.. we’ll send all the boys out with their fishing poles and we can have “girl” time!! I’m sure by the time that happens I’ll be craving a healthy dose of estrogen since I’m the only girl in the family!! ( I don’t think the dog and the cats qualify!!) ;)

    • January 16, 2011 at 5:35 am

      Hmmm, I’m not so sure sending the boys out with fishing poles is a non-dangerous way for them to spend the day … but oh well! ;-)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 174 other followers

