Bang…fizzle!

That’s how my year started….BANG….fizzle.

Spent my New Year’s Eve with my Husband, Son, and my Dad’s family, as usual. Where the bang come in, is that an Uncle who I haven’t seen in over 3 years was there for the party. What a shock! A very pleasant shock, though.

The fizzle started today. I’ve had my Son with me since the 21st, so have seen him every day for the past 11 days. It was probably the best 11 days of my life! I enjoy spending time with him so much, that when he’s not here, it’s like my heart is ripped out, and I can’t breath right. It’s like this every time he leaves, but this time is particularly bad for me. We are so close, and it kills me to have to say goodbye to him, even if it’s just for a couple of days. I don’t know many parents who feel this way about their children. Most are happy to be free of their kids, but I’m only truly happy when mine is with me. I don’t know how I’m gonna handle it when he’s 18 and moves out on his own or goes to college!

On Thursday nights, I start to have a slight mood improvement, knowing that I’ll be seeing him the next day. It doesn’t seem to matter what else is going on in my life…when Friday hits, I’m on top of the world. Sunday nights are usually the worst. I mope around like crazy, and usually end up in tears before the night is over. It’s a good thing my Husband knows how to deal with my sadness. He is so understanding and helpful. He’s the one who gives me gentle reminders all week long….”only 5 more days, honey” or “2 more days, the worst of the week is over”…with such loving compassion.

For the past few days, he was sick as a dog. Spiked a fever of 103.4, and has been coughing so much, a couple of times I thought his lungs were gonna shoot out, not to mention my ears exploding. When he left today, the quiet was nice, but then the quiet started getting too “loud” for me. The quiet was actually oppressive. I can’t wait until this Friday!!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

