Home > Circus of Life, MySpace blog > Death warmed over?

Death warmed over?

At this very moment, I feel like I’m about to die, and I wish my body would just submit and get it over with. Never having had pneumonia before in my life, I don’t know how to deal with it. Breathing is a struggle. Coughing hurts in places I didn’t know I even HAD places! I’ve had no appetite for days, and yet my stomach keeps growling, so I keep forcing food down so I don’t pass out.

I don’t understand how this happened so fast. Over the weekend, I was perfectly ok. My Husband went to work Sunday night, and came home Monday morning feeling sick. He spent 2 days taking massive amounts of cold meds and sleeping, and by Wednesday, he was better. The same wasn’t true for me. Monday afternoon, my throat hurt…so minor, it didn’t even bother me, really. Tuesday, my throat was fine, but I started getting sniffles and a slight cough. Wednesday, my sniffles were gone, but the cough was so bad, I was sure I was going to see a lung come shooting out each time. I had no voice, either. By Wednesday evening, I was in the emergency room. I was thinking I just had a severe case of bronchitis, but when the doctor checked the x-rays, he found pneumonia. I thought he was kidding!

After asking a bunch of questions, I was still left with a feeling of being left out in the dark. Aside from taking the prescribed meds, I don’t know what to do to feel better. If anyone has ever been through this before, and has any advice, please let me know. I’m willing to try just about anything to feel human again!

Also, I know I’m contagious to humans, but if anyone knows if it’s possible to pass this on to my cat, please reply ASAP. He appears to not be feeling well, though his nose is still wet. He just seems really lethargic (more so than normal), and he feels like his body temp has risen quite high. He’s still eating, drinking, and eliminating normally.

  1. November 19, 2010 at 10:58 am

    Dear Shelli, in 1993 I had double pneumonia. My doctor put me in the hospital and within a few hours I was in a coma. It took two weeks to come to. During that time they kept telling my wife to get religious counseling. What I have learned is that pneumonia is serious business. It just isn’t something to play with. I had excellent insurance through my wife’s job. The other benefit was that when I came to I had gone through nicotine withdrawal. I haven’t had a cigarette since that day. It took me almost another month to get back to work. So please try to find a way to deal with this. Peace, howie

    • November 20, 2010 at 3:53 pm

      Howie, this happened to me in 2008 (I’m copying my MS blogs over to WP). I did eventually get over it, but it was the worst month I’ve ever spent sick. I’m so sorry to hear that you were in a coma! Wow! But at least you gave up smoking! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

