Apron strings

It’s all happening too fast.

One minute, he’s my baby.

The next minute, he’s my young man.

He used to cry for me, and I was the only one who could calm him down.

He used to call me Mamma.

Then one day, he decided he was too old for that, and my name suddenly changed to Mom.

He used to hug me tightly.

Now, I barely get a hug, and when I do, it’s with one arm extended as far away as possible from his body.

We used to talk about everything, and joke around and be silly for hours.

Now, I’m apparently “so immature”.

I used to get hugs and kisses and an enthusiastic “I love you”.

Now, I’m told to “get out” of his room.

I won’t lie, I’m hurt. I feel like my heart’s been crushed.

Where did my little boy go? And who is this imposter that he’s been replaced by?

The apron strings are beyond stretched. They’re frayed and on the verge of snapping.

I’m not enjoying this phase of life.

Not. one. bit.

  1. November 14, 2009 at 2:46 am

    My kids are still really young so I haven’t experienced the apron strings being pulled yet. But, I can imagine that it will be SO HARD when it starts happening. Your son will experience another phase someday, one when he realizes that he doesn’t have all the answers and starts to listen and need again. It’s all part of growing up, right? But man, does it suck!! Hang in there…
    Mindy
    http://www.thesuburbanlife.com

    • November 14, 2009 at 3:31 am

      I should be used to it by now, I raised my former step-daughters from toddler to teen. But they didn’t really pull away from me … or maybe it didn’t affect me the way it does with my son. I don’t know. I do know that it’s hard. A couple of days after the “incident”, I asked my son about his reactions, and told him that I was hurt by it (we’re honest with each other like that), and he said, “Mom, I was just kidding! I didn’t realize you took it seriously.” Gee, now I can add confusion to my growing list of reasons why I don’t like this phase! 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

