Home > BFF - Blogging For Fun, MySpace blog, Uncategorized > I’ll get around to it … eventually (BFF – 21)

I’ll get around to it … eventually (BFF – 21)

The inspiration for this blog comes from BFF “Blogging For Fun”, over on MySpace.

Procrastination. My middle name. Well, it should have been!

I’m big on procrastination. I do it frequently. Most times I have a good reason, but sometimes I just do it for no reason at all. For the most part, my good reason is that I don’t have what I need to accomplish what I set out to do.

Sometimes it’s physical. Sometimes it’s financial. Alot of times it’s mental.

There are a ton of things I really need to be doing, and I’m just not mentally into it at that moment. Could be that I’m too tired, and afraid of messing something up. Maybe my mind is too focused on something else, and I can’t concentrate. All too often, there’s a distraction that’s causing me to flake out. For instance, my Son and Husband love to interrupt me at that exact moment when all of my brain cells align and I’m ready to tackle that thing I’ve put off. And when they interrupt me, it’s never a “yes” or “no” question; it’s almost always a long-winded question, with an answer that requires actual thought. By that time, the train has left the station … brain cells on board – me on the platform.

Physically, I may be incapable of doing something without assistance. Which adds a whole new element to things. If I need help from my Son or Husband, I have to work within their schedules. And lemme tell ya, that ain’t always easy. My Son has school and every other weekend (plus those extra days) with his father.  My Husband works 3rd shift, and there are days that he’s sleeping while I’m awake and vice-versa. We usually connect a few times a week. Of course, that’s taking into account the doctor’s appointments and other errands that need to be done.

Other times, I just. don’t. feel like it! No excuses. No reasons. I’m just in one of those moods. I call it my “I’m a woman and it’s my prerogative!” mood. If I want to sit on my ass and watch tv, that’s what I’m damn well gonna do! I’ll get to it when I get to it, and it’d serve you well to leave me the hell alone!

You know the mood. Woman, man or child – we’ve all experienced it.

My dad used to carry a wooden token in his pocket. I think it may have been given to him by another (older) relative, but I can’t be entirely sure.  Whenever I’d say “I’ll get around to it”, he’d dig his hand into his pocket, and pull out the token and hand it to me. Then he’d say, “There! Now you have one and you can go do what you’re supposed to do!”

Round Tuit

Incidentally, when I was looking for an image of the token my dad had (it’s not exactly like the one he had, but it’s close enough!), I found this really cool site, for anyone who would like a Round Tuit of their own.

My current procrastination list:

  • Sorting through our junk to tag things for a yard sale
  • Cleaning off my desk, that looks like a tornado hit it
  • Blogging about the ideas rattling around in my head (currently no less than 5)
  • Cleaning the windows – inside and out
  • Renewing my expired drivers’ license
  • Packing in anticipation of our impending move to a new locale

Maybe I’ll come back and edit this list when I finally get that Round Tuit.

  1. November 15, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    Oh, man can I relate to this post! I can be one stinkin’ efficient machine if I put my mind to it…and most of the time I do. I also, however, can put things off like the best of them! And I’m a delicious excuse maker if need be. Ain’t nobody who can argue against my procrastination! Great post! =)
    Mindy
    http://www.thesuburbanlife.com

    • November 15, 2009 at 8:21 pm

      LOL, thanks! I think I’m more of a procrastinator than I am an efficient machine. I’m trying to change that, but there’s only so much one woman can do. 😉

  2. November 16, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    Since I live alone I find it hard to procrastinate with the big stuff, but I can let little things slide now and again. I can’t reason that I’m waiting for someone to help me with, pretty much, anything because I have to do it all myself. (Yep, even the heavy stuff. Hee!) So I can only get mad at me and I HATE being mad at me. 😉

    • November 17, 2009 at 4:14 am

      I used to be able to do it all myself … until my body rebelled against me! 😀 Now I rely on the help of others, which sucks. And leaves me mad at me more often than I care to discuss! LOL

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

