Home > Book Review > Prophecy of the Sisters – book review

Prophecy of the Sisters – book review

Prophecy of the Sisters (Prophecy of the Sisters, #1)Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I won this book through one of the Goodreads giveaways. I was very excited to read this, as the description sounded like it was right up my alley, with regard to the type of books I like to read. To be fair, I was only able to spend a few minutes a week reading this book.

I have to say, I liked “Prophecy of the Sisters” as soon as I started reading it. The beginning of the book flowed effortlessly. The characters were well built, and the setting could be viewed in my mind’s eye. The plot was intriguing, as the reader is kept just out of arm’s reach of discovering what was going to happen next. There was one surprise after another, which I did thoroughly enjoy.

However, about halfway through the book, I started to grow weary of the anticipation. I sort of felt like one of those dogs who are trained by a biscuit being hung in front of them by a wire, just out of reach, while the dog runs forever trying to catch what he can not reach. Again, out of fairness, I did only read the book in short increments, but I never lost sight of what I was reading, and it was easy to remember what I’d previously read. Almost too easy.

By the time things escalated between Lia, Alice and Henry, I was relieved to finally be at the peak of the story, and once again excited for the climax, which I was sure would be an epic battle between Lia and those in the Otherworlds. The pace of the story quickened. So quick, in fact, that it felt like the author had tired of writing the story, and just wanted to get it over with as quickly as possible. Things progressed so quickly, that the part of the story that followed Henry’s death almost seemed like an epilogue.

Maybe it’s just my preference, but I like to have a clear and concise ending to a book. I tend to disappoint easily in books that have the ending leaving the reader to guess at what may happen next. I really wanted to know if Lia was able to find the other “keys”, and how she went about it. Then I wanted the epic battle. I was very interested in finding out how the knife played a part in the story and if James would help her in the battle! I wanted to see Lia return home, reunite with James, and possibly fix the relationship with Alice (if Alice lived, that is). I am hoping that there will be another book, a “Prophecy, part 2” if you will. But since there was no mention of one, I have to say that the last quarter of the story disappointed me.

My final rating: 2.75 (fell somewhere between “it was ok” and “I liked it”)

(My most sincere apologies to the author, Michelle Zink, for what must seem like a scathing review. Please keep in mind, this is just one woman’s opinion.)

View all my Goodreads reviews >>

  1. November 20, 2009 at 1:51 am

    Great review! I thought you were very fair in your opinion and I completely understand your point about the ending. That’s why I always had a hard time with those Choose your Destiny books because I always wanted to know…for sure…how things were going to end. =)
    Mindy
    http://www.thesuburbanlife.com

    • November 20, 2009 at 3:46 am

      After posting my review on Goodreads (and here), the author emailed me to let me know that there will be a second and third part to the story, but because of her publisher, it was not disclosed up front. Apparently, the publisher felt that if it were to be disclosed, that readers would be immediately turned off, as they’d have to wait a year between books.

      I can somewhat see the point of that, but then I look at other 2+ part books (Harry Potter, Twilight, etc.) where fans are rabid for the next book in the series. Also, the way “The Prophecy of the Sisters” was left at the end was very disappointing, even with the knowledge that there will eventually be more. She should have put all 3 parts into one long book, instead.

      Maybe I am too critical. I dunno. I’m so tired of all the “series” books now! They’re overdone, almost clichè. I devour books that are very long (800+, small print, single spaced), like most Stephen King novels. I just like it all to be finished when I get to the last page. Is that too much to ask? 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

