Home > Circus of Life > And so we go … again

And so we go … again

Since we moved to the apartment in which we currently reside, we’ve pretty much regretted our decision. It was September of 2007, and the temperature was still nice and warm outside. We had no idea what kind of winter we’d face here.

By November, we had a taste of how bad it would get. You see, this was once a farmhouse. It now houses 2 apartments – 1 apartment includes the garage, basement and first floor, and 1 apartment includes the second floor,  attic and detached garage (which we refer to as a shed).

The previous owner was Amish, so there was little to no electrical wiring. When the owner bought the place, he hired an idiot a contractor to install wiring, and put in brand new replacement windows. It’s all too apparent from the rig job, that this person had no clue what they were doing. In our 17′ x 17′ living room, we have a grand total of 4 electrical outlets. Imagine how lacking the rest of the apartment is!

The replacement windows are certainly pretty, and they function quite well at keeping the outside where it belongs. There’s just one small problem: they never sealed around the windows, so the tiniest little bit of wind gushes in around the window frame, through the molding, and into our apartment. Did I mention that the walls consist of plaster and lathe-board, and have zero insulation?!  When the wind blows, our curtains do, too … with the windows closed!

The 2 entrance doors are so old, they no longer fit the frames properly, which – you guessed it – allows the cold in and the heat out. After complaining to the owner and being told, “it’s just an old house, you have to deal with it”, my Dad came over to see what he could do to help. His time. His money. Our electric bill was astronomical during the cold 7 months out of the year. (We only have electric baseboard heating.)

After our downstairs neighbor passed away, we had an added monkey wrench to deal with: no heat coming from the first floor apartment. Again, complaints to the owner fell on deaf ears. Even though we qualify for low income energy assistance (LIHEAP in PA), and they would come in and weatherize the place at NO cost to the owner or ourselves, but noooo! The owner wouldn’t allow it. Talk about kicking a gift horse in the mouth!

For 2 brutally cold winters, we endured the cold draft breeze in our home. This is in addition to the despicable things that the owner did after our beloved friend and neighbor passed away. (Another post for another day.)

Then, after 6 months of relative peace and quiet, and basically having the place to ourselves, the owner decides to rent the bottom apartment to a young couple with a 2 year old daughter. Don’t get me wrong, the couple are good people, and the little tyke is awfully cute. Until she doesn’t get her way. Have any of you ever heard a banshee? I have! It resonates through all 4 floors of this house, and I’m pretty sure that the windows on the detached garage shiver, as well.

When she’s not screaming like a banshee, she’s imitating a herd of elephants. I didn’t realize that one tiny child could make that much racket! It’s unreal. I am thankful every day that my Son is 12, and that I’m forever past that stage of life. If I’m ever cursed with grandchildren (yes, it will be a curse), I will send them home the second they start behaving like the banshe-phant that lives downstairs!

So, to make a rather long story somewhat short (readers: “why didn’t you do that 26 paragraphs ago?”), we decided we’d had enough, and we needed to move the hell out of dodge before I declare war on the owner and the toddler.

(Don’t think I wouldn’t, you don’t know what I’m capable of with only sporadic sleep! LOL *evil maniacal grin*)

As of yesterday, we’ve officially found a new place to call home. We have all but one of our ducks in a row, and hope to sign the new lease in 5 days; just as soon as that one pokey duck catches up.

I’m so happy I could pee! Our new place will have amenities that our current abode lacks:

  • insulation
  • sufficient electrical outlets
  • a whole array of kitchen cabinets (as opposed to our mere 4 now [2 top, 2 bottom])
  • a food pantry (we’ve been storing our food and bake-ware in a huge entertainment center in our kitchen)
  • closets that are human sized
  • wall-to-wall carpeting
  • a laundry room (that alone may have been enough to entice me)
  • a bathroom that can fit more than 1 person at a time, with a linen closet
  • NO noisy herd of elephants living downstairs (just a 3 car garage, used for storage purposes only)
  • a creek running alongside the building (at the bottom of the hill, no worries about flooding)
  • a range hood above the stove (we currently have to vent any cooking smoke by opening the windows)

Yeah, I’m freakin’ excited! Even though this will mark the 87th (give or take) time I’ve moved since becoming an adult, it may well turn out to be the best, and almost last time I move. We have one move reserved for when we move from PA to FL, in case you were wondering.

The only thing I can currently think of that the place is lacking, is a dishwasher. I can deal. My Dad is none too happy about his impending back – toe – shoulder – elbow – finger – knee – neck – injury while helping us … again. But he’s my Dad! He’d never refuse to help his dear sweet precious loving daughter! Shush! I can suck up whenever and wherever I choose!

The best news: it’s only 3 miles from where we are now, which means I don’t even have to pack neatly! And, it’s only $75 more per month than what we’re paying now! Yay us!

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

  1. November 23, 2009 at 1:19 am

    Woo hoo! Insulation is definitely not overrated! I’m glad for you that you are fleeing from the banshee-phant. I have one of my own here and completely understand your wish to exit the premises. Trust me. I understand. Completely. Congrats on the new digs and all your 21st century stuff. =)
    Mindy
    http://www.thesuburbanlife.com

  2. November 23, 2009 at 1:51 am

    Good word, huh? I wonder what a banshe-phant would really look like? Then again, I could just sneak a pic of that obnoxious toddler! LOL

    Thanks on the congrats. Sorry you seem to have a banshe-phant in your house too. I don’t know about you, but I don’t like being subjected to a toddler, especially when I haven’t given birth to it. I think the owner rented the place to them, just because he knew it would piss us off. Joke’s on him, though, ’cause I know that December and January are the worst months to find a new renter. *evil smirk*

    I’ll be posting the before and after pics, as soon as we have access to the place, officially. Possibly as early as this weekend! Woohoo!

  3. Jenapher
    November 25, 2009 at 1:13 am

    Good for you, I loved when I moved last bc of the dishwasher, lol…our old landlord sucked butt too.

    • November 25, 2009 at 5:14 am

      With all those amenities, I can get by without a dishwasher, I’m sure! I hope. Positive thoughts. *chants calmly*

  1. December 8, 2009 at 1:26 am
  2. December 17, 2009 at 7:42 am

Leave a Reply

