Ring Ring!

Nothing major to report today, just a few scattered thoughts.

The cable company came and installed our land-line phone. Everything went perfectly. It would seem that my bout with Murphy’s Law was temporary. I’m relieved!

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

The weather here in PA is nucking futs! 2 inches of snow on Saturday (the 5th). Warm enough on Sunday to melt at least half of it. Tuesday evening, it snowed again, but turned to freezing rain a couple of hours later, then to just rain a couple of hours after that. By Wednesday morning, all the snow was washed away, and Wednesday afternoon, it was warm enough to not need a jacket outside. But, it turned nasty again … windy enough that I might have to change my address to “across the street” or Oz. Oz might be more fun, now that I think about it. We’re off to see the Wizard!

Once all the installations were done, we were able to re-arrange some of the furniture that was sitting out in the middle of nowhere, to a more reasonable spot. A box or two may have been unpacked. Now my desk looks like the Kansas that Dorothy left behind. I wonder if I can have it declared as a Disaster Area?

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

Today was bill paying day. I pay all of my bills online. I’m a geek like that. However, I haven’t received any of the “new” bills yet, and the “old, final bill” bills haven’t been finalized. So I hop online and try to view my accounts. I managed to pay my cell phone bill, because they don’t care where I live, so my account there hasn’t changed. Suffice it to say, today isn’t bill paying day anymore. Today has been re-named “Call the Utility Companies and Straighten Out the Online Accounts Before I Can Pay Bills” day. Oh joy. Can’t I just stab myself in the eye with a fork, instead? It would be less painful, I’m sure.

I started with the Cable Company, since they are open 24 hours a day. Why can’t every company be like that? I mean, really, if I have to be awake and functioning in the wee hours of the morning, I would really appreciate it I could get all of my shit done at that time! Think about it, they could probably all sit around reading their current favorite book, just waiting for the 11 people that will call between 1a and 5a. Seriously. Sounds like a cushy job to me! I could do that job. But then again, I’m up all night anyway, so it wouldn’t bother me.

Oops, sidestepped into a rant there, sorry. So, where was I? Oh yes, Cable Company. 5a phone call to straighten out my account. Pleasant and very helpful rep this time. Another reason all companies should adopt a 24 hour policy – none of those bitchy “normal schedule” people. Anyway, when they gave me a new account number, they also gave me new login information. But nobody bothered to tell me that! So, I’m trying to get in with my old info, which was re-designated a secondary account. After a half hour of both of us confusing the hell out of each other, it was all put right. And to ice the cake, all the credits that were supposed to be on my account – actually were! Yippeee! One more bill paid.

Now I have to wait for all those other lazy people to show up at work at 8am, all bitchy and groggy, so I (who, for the record, is bright eyed and bushy tailed now, but will be bitchy and sleepy at 8a, and not in the mood for idiots) can call and dump my problems on them. Thinking of it that way makes me feel better.

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

I have apparently forgotten how to use words. Let me explain. While I was on the phone with the Cable Company, my Husband sent me a text to verify that I was, in fact, awake and hadn’t fallen asleep and started drooling on my desk. Instead of replying to him with a text that said “yes”, I replied with a text that said “text”. I don’t know why. I don’t even remember typing it! In fact, I was confused when he sent me a second text that said “text what?”. It took me a full 5 minutes to realize what I’d done. I is smart. S-M-R-T smart.

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

*Disclaimer: this post looks perfectly normal to me. If it doesn’t look normal to you, please contact my Husband and notify him that I need a helmet for the rest of the day.

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

  1. December 10, 2009 at 9:14 am

    Sounds like a good start to the day. I must say I am tired of calling one company or another and being told that their call volume is larger then expect and so I will be on hold for 10 to 17 minutes. Since it is always larger then expected, why can’t they hire some more people to work the phone. Oh yes, I forgot that my cost them something.

    Peace, howie

    • December 11, 2009 at 1:16 am

      I know, right! Now, if you had the ability to call at 3 o’clock in the morning, when there would be absolutely NO wait time, I’m sure you’d jump right on that opportunity.

      My first 8a call this morning, 43 seconds after the place opened for business, and I had a wait time of 14 minutes! WTF! Next time I won’t wait a whole 43 seconds, I’ll tell you that much! 😉

  2. December 10, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    Okay, I about spit out my Rice Krispie treat when I read the part about you texting “text.” (In truth, I probably should not have been eating the rice krispie treat so all in all it was divine intervention I was reading that as I was munching down). I’ve done that kind of thing so many times. You know how much information us women have to keep in our mind at any given time? It’s a wonder we can walk and breathe all at the same time. =)
    Mindy

    • December 11, 2009 at 1:20 am

      I’m pretty sure I know a few women who really can’t walk and breathe at the same time! LOL I’m glad I could help you with your apparent rice krispie treat addiction. 😉

      Oh, Bill sent me a text this morning as he was leaving work. It said “No way home”. I got all panicky, thinking the truck broke down, but I was on the phone with the 14 minute wait time company, and I couldn’t do a damn thing about it. He meant “On way home”. It’s good to know I’m not the only one who forgets how to use words. 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

