Home > Circus of Life > I didn’t order this! Take it back!

I didn’t order this! Take it back!

Ok, here’s the breakdown. I’m miserable. Sick as a dog. To top things off, we’re under 2 feet of snow!

Friday morning and afternoon, I was feeling just fine. A slight case of the sniffles, but I attributed it to the cold outside. Friday night, I start feeling a bit of a cough coming on.

I was tired anyway, so I thought I’d take a nap. It was 9p. Bill was sound asleep already, and I was bored. Sleep seemed like the best option.

I woke up at 3:30a! That’s some nap! And I felt worse. Like I was breathing under water.  First things first … medicine. Have to break up this chest congestion. No other symptoms yet, so it’s a regimen of Guifennesen every 4 hours.

Time for a smoke. (Yeah, I know. Please, no preaching!) I throw on a jacket and shoes, ’cause we don’t smoke in the house. I don’t know what to expect out there, since they are calling for a massive amount of snow. At least a foot.

I open the door, and there’s already an inch or two on the ground. It’s coming down fast and hard. I grab the broom, and that seems to be enough to clear off the porch, since the snow is light and fluffy. Ok, this isn’t so bad.

Back into the house. Bill is awake. We both hop on our computers and play for a while. My cough is getting worse, but it’s productive. A little too productive. Yuck! I hate this kind of sickness worse than any other kind. Unfortunately, it happens to me at least once a year, usually right around the holidays. I wonder how long it will take to rid myself of it this year? Probably February, after being put on antibiotics.

About once an hour, we venture outside for a smoke and to clean off the porch. It’s getting more difficult now. The broom just isn’t cutting it anymore. We break out the shovel. We’re trying to keep ahead of it. If we don’t, we won’t be able to open our door.

10a – we’ve gotten at least a foot of snow already. We shovel off the porch, sweeping off the tables and benches and railing. We have it almost completely free of snow. It’s still coming down hard and fast. The predictions have now changed to 14-18″, with some areas getting as much as 20″.

We have no food in the house. We decide to go grocery shopping, and to see what the roads are like. Bill throws the truck into 4-wheel drive – there’s no way to make it out of the driveway without it. The roads aren’t terrible, they’re already out plowing. Most vehicles on the road are trucks, SUVs and vans. A few people in little cars are braving it. Walmart is packed! Seems everyone else had the same idea.

12:30p – we arrive home to what looks like another foot of snow.  Groceries are put away (well, the cold stuff, anyway). The porch floor gets another shoveling. Back inside to iron some curtains, and hang some things on the wall.

1:30p – the porch is covered again. This time I took pictures. I can’t believe how much is falling. The Weather Channel map shows us as getting less than our neighbors to the east. My porch begs to differ. We live in this weird-ass weather pocket, where we get more of whatever is predicted. Always! Rain, snow, wind … you name it, we get more of it.

2 hours - another foot of snow

20 minutes after sweeping a 3rd time

5p – Bill and I have had enough. It’s still snowing, hard and fast. The front door is acting as a broom when we open it, because the snow is higher than the bottom of it. I’m sicker than sick. The medicine is only barely helping. I’m coughing up a lung, and now my nose is runny one minute, congested the next. My throat is starting to hurt. Time for bed. I plan on only sleeping a couple of hours, so I can get up and watch The Muppets at 8p (back off Miss Piggy, the frog is mine!).

1:30a – I wake up. So much for a short nap. I feel worse now than I did when I went to bed. I stuff myself with more medicine. I’m not hungry, but I really haven’t eaten all day, so I grab a quick snack. That makes me feel worse. Lesson learned. Eat only when my stomach yells at me!

I venture out to the porch. Well, what I can find of it, that is. It’s still flurrying. I sweep a small area in front of the door. I don’t have the energy or gumption to do more than that. It’s too fucking cold, and I can only find one of my gloves. Not one pair … one glove. Looks like I need to unpack some more boxes. If and when I feel up to it.

Right now, though, I’m just gonna sit on my fat ass and do absolutely nothing that requires energy or thought. And go through a box of tissues. And try to keep my lungs inside my body where they belong. And stay warm and try to forget about the Blizzard of ’09.  Wish me luck!

  1. December 20, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    Dear Shelli, and finally you made the right decision. I hope you get better soon. Peace, howie

    • December 20, 2009 at 6:40 pm

      Thanks Howie, so do I! 😉 Looks like my schedule is: sleep 8 hours, be awake 8 – 10 hours, sleep 8 hours … and so on, and so on. Oh, and massive amounts of medicine. Nyquil is the best stuff in the world! LOL

  2. December 20, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    I’ll take your snow. I think I love snow…

    • December 21, 2009 at 12:13 am

      You think? You’re not sure? LOL You can have it, all 2 feet of it! 🙂

  3. December 20, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    No snow at my place.. hope to go the country with four season..

    • December 21, 2009 at 12:18 am

      I’m tired of 4 seasons, and can’t wait till I move to Florida where it’s warm most of the time. 🙂

  4. December 22, 2009 at 1:20 am

    Okay, Shelli? Please make sure you keep your lungs inside your body. Seriously. Although, with all of that snow, if you had to head to the hospital to have them put back in you’d have plenty of ice to pack them in. See? I’m always looking for the positive… =)
    Mindy
    http://www.thesuburbanlife.com

    • December 22, 2009 at 3:26 pm

      Thanks Mindy! I guess there is a bright side, huh? LOL (ok, laughing is NOT helping me keep my lungs inside … but I can’t help it!)

  1. February 25, 2010 at 5:48 am

Leave a Reply

