Home > Recipe > Twisted Beef Stew

Twisted Beef Stew

A few years ago … well, ok, 10 years ago … I was struggling to lose weight (still am, but that’s beside the point). I found an online weight loss site that was just starting out. It was called eDiets.com. Many of you have probably heard of it now. But 10 years ago, it was a budding site, and it was free! About 6 months after I joined, I had lost about 15 lbs. Not great, but not bad either, considering I wasn’t completely faithful in my following of the diet. I would have continued with it, except that they were starting to charge for their services. And for me, it wasn’t financially do-able. So I printed out many of the recipes I loved, and canceled my membership.

Since then, only a couple of those recipes have survived. And of those, most have been adapted to suit the tastes of the rest of my family. They’ve also been adapted for the cheap groceries that we’re able to afford, since most fresh foods are out of our price range.

The original name of this recipe was “Healthy Beef Stew”. It’s no longer the healthiest meal. But it’s still tasty! And it’s one of the meals I can cook without needing to follow a recipe anymore, because I’ve cooked it so often. In fact, I can’t even find the original recipe any more.

So, without further ado, here is one of my family’s most favorite, most requested meal. I will provide notes at the end, with tips for substitutions based on what I can remember from the original recipe.

Twisted Beef Stew

5 servings

1 lb beef stew meat
1 can (14.5 oz) vegetable broth
1 can (14.5 oz) sliced carrots
1 can (4 – 8 oz)  sliced mushrooms
1 tbsp soy sauce
½ tbsp minced onion
½ tsp Italian seasoning
1/8 – ¼ tsp black pepper to taste
1 lb tri-color pasta

beefstew1

1. Brown the stew meat. Drain if needed.

beefstew2

2. Add spices and seasonings.

beefstew3

3. Add vegetable broth. Cover. Boil over medium-high heat for 30 minutes. †

beefstew4

4. Add carrots and mushrooms (juices included). Re-cover and continue to boil over medium-high heat, until almost all liquid has evaporated (about 15 minutes).

beefstew5

5. Cook pasta according to directions. Drain. Try to time it so both pasta and beef are done at the same time.

beefstew6

6. Add pasta to pan. Stir well so that pasta absorbs the small amount of liquid remaining in pan. Serve and enjoy!

If you use fresh carrots and mushrooms, add them at the same time you add the vegetable broth.  You will probably want to add about ½ – ¾ cup of water as well. Cooking time will probably be increased to 1 hour.

I’m assuming that fresh chopped or minced onions can be used, though I’ve never actually tried.

  1. January 14, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    That looks so tasty! It has also made me very, very hungry. But somehow, after seeing the pictures and reading about it, my tuna just doesn’t seem as appetizing. Haha. As soon as I force myself to go grocery shopping I will be getting the necessary ingredients to make this! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    • January 14, 2010 at 8:50 pm

      You’re very welcome! It IS very tasty, and filling. And easy to make with very little ingredients.

      Just try not to do what I did the other night when I made it – overcook so the liquid is completely gone. 😦 That’s why the final pic doesn’t look that great, ’cause I pulled one of my usual stunts, and overcooked burnt dinner. LOL

  2. January 14, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    Yummm! First of all – I love stew. Second of all – I love to eat. So this should work out really well =)
    Mindy
    http://www.thesuburbanlife.com

    • January 15, 2010 at 12:43 am

      Let me know if you actually try it, whether you like it or not. The meat won’t be as tender as your regular stew meat, so be careful with the wee ones. I found it was a nice way to get the kids to eat carrots, since they were so soft, and the soy sauce masked the taste quite well. I won’t eat carrots unless they are very cooked, or shredded like in a salad. So this works out well for me. 😉

  3. January 15, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    Looks and sounds very good to me. Take care Shelli, Peace, howie

    • January 15, 2010 at 9:16 pm

      Thanks for stopping by Howie! 🙂

  4. January 25, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    Shelli,
    I made the stew, a modified gluten-free version, and it was so delicious! Thanks for the recipe!

    • January 26, 2010 at 12:55 am

      You’re quite welcome! What parts had to be modified? I may be able to send it to my cousin, who also has Celiacs.

  5. January 29, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Just had to make sure everything was gluten free, a lot broths have wheat in them, had to use a gluten free soy sauce, I added balsamic vinegar, and gluten free noodles. The gluten free pasta doesn’t hold up very well, in general, and I did not add it directly to the stew. I made enough pasta to put in my stew for dinner. Then with the left-overs, I made more pasta and put it in when I was ready to eat. The pasta does not reheat as well, and it gets funny textured, so it works best if it is kept separate from the stew until it is time to eat, and this pasta does not keep well, so make it as it is needed.

    • January 30, 2010 at 6:28 am

      Thanks, I’ll send this on. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

