Hello Again!

Yeah, I know, it’s been a week since my last post. Sorry.

I’ve been mulling around, trying to read and comment. Been a little down in the dumps again. No reason in particular, but probably due to the massive amounts of snow we’ve had recently. Between shoveling on an almost hourly basis, freezing my ass off, and having to even look at the snow (I should mention I hate snow with a passion!), it’s got me bluer than usual.

Spring, where are you?! I need sunshine and warmth!

My house looks like a tornado hit it. I haven’t had the time or the desire to clean or do normal chores. I do what’s absolutely necessary. That’s it. And sometimes, I’m doing less than what is absolutely necessary. Matthew has cooked dinner twice in the past 10 days or so. Yeah, that should tell you how low I’ve been.

We got our tax return, so spent the weekend out shopping for things we’ve been in dire need of. Like pots and pans, ’cause I’m tired of picking out the flakes of non-stick covering from our no longer non-stick pans.

And clothes for all of us. We’ve all worn our socks through, to the point where it was almost pointless to even wear them, as there were too many holes to do a good job of keeping our feet warm. Same thing with my sweatpants.

I’ve been fighting with my insurance company. Well, actually, with my county assistance office that handles my insurance. They canceled it. Without telling me! Because I didn’t return a paper that I never got in the first place! I found out when I went to pick up my prescriptions, and was told my insurance was denied. So, I was without 2 of my most important prescriptions for a week. And suffered for it! With the tax refund, I was able to pay for them, without the insurance. I hope it’s all straightened out by the time I need a refill!

Back to the shopping – all weekend. Store to store to store, ad infinitum. Looking for the Wii Fit w/board. Which is pretty much what we’ve been doing for over a month. At one store, I’d missed out on one by less than a day! I gave up, convinced I’d never find one (even online was a bust). Then, 2am, Bill calls me from work.

Bill: “I have some good news for you!”. I could hear the smile in his voice.

Me: depressed and a slight bit pissy, “Yeah, what is it?”.

Bill: “I checked in electronics tonight, on a whim, and guess what’s in stock?!”

Me: perking up a bit, “You’re kidding, right?”.

Bill: “Nope, I’m not. I bought you a Wii Fit!”.

Me: smiling from ear to ear, “I love you! You’re the best husband ever!”.

10 minutes later, I get a text from him: “I guess you’re really going to owe me now.”

Funny guy. πŸ˜€

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

Yes, I know, again with Neil Diamond. But he did sort of write some of the soundtrack for my life. So it’s appropriate. And probably won’t be the last time!

  1. Jenapher
    February 15, 2010 at 7:28 am

    I liked my Wii fit for about oh two weeks πŸ™‚ Cheer up!!

    • February 15, 2010 at 9:39 pm

      2 weeks? That’s it? What didn’t you like about it after 2 weeks?

      • Jenapher
        February 18, 2010 at 1:59 am

        Because I got lazy, what other reason would there be?? lol

  2. hjanapol
    February 15, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    Dear Shelli, I just want you to know that spring is just around the next 4 or 5 corners. I would stop shoveling the snow and use a blow torch. As for your insurance, isn’t the government great. Great to hear from you. Peace and hugs, howie

  3. February 15, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    Howie … blow torch! LOL Now there’s an idea! If it weren’t for the fear of burning down our porch, I might consider it! πŸ˜€

    Oh yeah, great government. I’ll bite my tongue for the moment. πŸ˜‰

    *hugs* right back atcha!

  4. February 16, 2010 at 2:24 am

    Yay for Tax Refunds! I’m sitting here hoping that we’ll be in the black this year rather than owing bucket loads. We shall see. Sorry about your Rx situation! Hope your insurance company gets their shit together and reinstates your coverage. If they don’t I would head on down to their local office and spend every day that they don’t reinstate your coverage until they’re forced to comply. Your pissy mood should move them in the right direction. Sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do. =)
    Mindy
    http://www.thesuburbanlife.com

  5. February 16, 2010 at 2:54 am

    LOL Mindy, yeah the pissy mood should help. Especially if I have to unleash The Bitch. I pity them! They re-sent me the form. I just got it over the weekend. They said they’d reinstate it for 30 days until I had a chance to get the form and fill it out. But guess what? Nope, didn’t happen. At least not yet. And nobody is returning my phone calls. A visit to their office might be in order. Although, that’s more torture for me than for them. *sigh*

    With all the tax law changes lately, you might just get your wish! I was stunned at how much we got back this year. No really, it was almost a 500% increase from last year’s taxes! I triple checked the numbers, ’cause I was sure I’d done something wrong! πŸ˜€

    • February 16, 2010 at 10:43 pm

      Oh, Lord. There is some hope then. Thanks! And I’ve still got my fingers crossed that your Rx people will get their heads out of their butts! =)
      Mindy

  6. February 16, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    Ahhh!! I don’t blame you for being blue because of the snow~ I hate that damn stuff!! If it makes you feel any better, I had to drive north this weekend to avoid that super screwy cold/snow front that decided to dump snow all over the deep south. Global warming, yeah right! I don’t see how you all in the north deal with it all.
    I loved my Wii Fit! It was left at home because the Wii belongs to my little brother, and I don’t need additional distractions here. I am exicted that you finally got one~ Yay, Bill! I hope he was rewarded for such a great find!
    I am very sorry to hear about your insurance issues. After working in a pharmacy for over three years, I can say that insurance is a bitch, no other words for it. I am sorry to hear that you had to go without medication, I really hate seeing that, and I know how important it is to take medications every day. Hold on to your recipts, and maybe they can reimburse you for what you paid. And don’t let up on them until you get what you want and need from them, bug them daily until something is done. Sorry, this was long, but I’m trying to make up for my slacking on reading πŸ˜‰

    • February 17, 2010 at 1:17 am

      “I don’t see how you all in the north deal with it all.”

      Um, not very well, as you can see! LOL

      I will only say that Bill’s reward for the Wii Fit actually happened 24 hours prior to his buying it. πŸ˜‰ Does that count? Oh, and the fact that he got to watch me using it this morning, and kept commenting about how he was admiring the view. He’s such a slut! *giggle* Man, that thing is brutal! Or it’s just that I’m terribly out of shape. Either way, it kicked my ass!

      Still working on the prescription issue. Got the paperwork filled out, now waiting for word about the insurance. And no, going without my meds for any more than a day is not good at all! However, taking them again after being off them for over a week actually made me sick to my stomach. I’m now easing back into them – instead of every 12 hours, I’m going every 18 hours – it seems to be helping the nausea.

      I’m slacking on reading too. I think I’m in hibernation mode.

  7. February 17, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    Hey, I am sorry for what you had to go through. I am glad to hear that you are able to get your prescription again!

    You said you had to look high and low for wii fit. Is it because Amazon was out of stock? The reason I ask is because I order 99% of stuff online nowadays: I find that the price is usually the lowest, no tax and free shipping. Unless you are against the big evil retail empire, like one of my dearest friends is…

    • February 20, 2010 at 1:28 am

      Prescriptions bought, though at a price much higher than I’m used to paying (which is $1 each).

      The Wii fit was out of stock everywhere that I looked, in traditional stores AND online. I tried every retailer I could think of. And I couldn’t order if they were out of stock (like a back-order type of deal). The irony is, as soon as Bill found and bought the one at Walmart, we started seeing them available in other places. And as of now (4 days later), there’s still one of the stupid things on the shelf!! How’s that for a slap in the face. LOL

  8. February 21, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    Okay Shelli . . . now I gotta google that wii fit thingy cuz I’m so pathetically old school. This is definately that time of year when the snow gets old, eh. Spring is coming though; the goofy woodchuck said so! I took my daughter and friend to a nearby community center today, where they had a big pool, and just stood around the shallow end, playing with them. It was actually great therapy for the winter blues. I never thought of it before, but a pool in winter is like a little getaway.

    • February 22, 2010 at 3:15 am

      The Wii fit will get you up and moving, that’s for sure! I’ll be blogging about it in more detail soon.

      Is it a bad thing that I never even looked at the TV on groundhog day? I have NO idea what he predicted. He’s like the weathermen, though … never right! πŸ˜€

      I would love to be able to afford some place where I could swim year round! Or swim at all. I know the YMCA gives “scholarships” for poor families, but there’s not one close enough to us to justify the gas money it would take to get there. But yeah, it would be awesome, for sure! And so much less stress on my body for exercising. Glad you had a mental reprieve from the snow. I’m sure it helped!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

