Home > MySpace blog, News, Politics > Of Mosques and Ground Zero (a response) !!UPDATE!!

Of Mosques and Ground Zero (a response) !!UPDATE!!

I was planning on writing a blog about this tonight, but it would seem that my friend World.B.Free got to it before I did in his blog, entitled “Of Mosques and Ground Zero.. Sarah Palin is right on this one“. So, instead of writing an entire blog in response, I figured I’d go ahead and post my own.

WBF, I don’t think you’re wrong.  But then again, I’ve been fighting against this mosque since the first I heard of it, months ago.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Most of the people reading this will recognize me as a very Liberal Democrat, an Atheist, and very outspoken against the Right-wing Conservative Repukes. However, this is one of those instances that I completely agree with them (shocking, I know!).

But my reasons don’t necessarily mirror those of the right-wing. For me, it’s not about religion, per se. I should clarify, it’s not about me feeling like my religion is being competed against (which is how most of them see it), and it’s not about me not wanting any religion (which is how most of them will view my point of view). My reasons go much deeper.

In addition to my life-long studying of the Christian Bible, I have also been recently studying the Muslim Qur’an. Granted, I don’t have as many years “under my belt” with the Qur’an as I do the Bible. But in my research, I’ve found that most Muslims don’t argue the meaning behind each passage in the Qur’an, as the Christians do with the Bible.

Most Muslims take the meanings literally, and most Muslims still follow all the rules written in the Qur’an, no matter how barbaric. The same can’t be said for Christians. I mean, when is the last time a Christian was stoned to death for some indiscretion? And on the flip-side of that coin, when is the last time a Muslim was stoned to death for some indiscretion? Starting to see where I’m coming from?

Veiled Statue of Liberty

Also, Muslims follow Shari’a Law, and want that law to be a part of every country’s court system. It’s already happening in England, despite protests by some British citizens.

In anticipation of this moving even farther to the West, Oklahoma has made a preemptive move to ban Shari’a Law. In my view, that’s one of the smartest things they could have done, and it needs to be something that all states, and our federal government, do to ensure the safety and well-being of all it’s citizens, Muslim or not!

Now, back to the mosque that’s being planned, only 2 blocks from the site of Ground Zero.

First is the emotional response. Let’s just get that out of the way, and call it what it is. Just knowing there will be a mosque in the shadow of the WTC makes my stomach turn. The fact that this has been so heavily publicized means that everyone will know it’s there. Nobody can say, “you won’t even realize it’s there” … not after all the news coverage of it. To know that this is right around the corner, is a slap in the face to all who died there, to all the families who were left behind.

Suppose they wanted to build a mosque 2 blocks from the Pentagon, or 2 blocks from Shenksville PA site of Flight 93? Would the reaction be any different? Not for me, it wouldn’t. But somehow, people think that it will be “hidden” because it’s in a city of millions, amongst other tall buildings. So was the World Trade Center! And plenty of people know if the existence of that!

They want to say that this will be a “center of healing”. For who?!  Or a place to learn about Islam and the Muslim religion. Really?

Through my research, I’ve found out some things about that mosque that raise the hairs on the back of my neck. Just reading the Qur’an told me most of what I needed to know, without having to research things. Paying attention to the news about the Muslims and their religion was more than I needed to know.

Remember, most Muslims (extremist or not), take the Qur’an literally.

Qur’an 3:28 Let not the believers take disbelievers for their friends in preference to believers. Whoso doeth that hath no connection with Allah unless (it be) that ye but guard yourselves against them, taking (as it were) security.

4:89 They long that ye should disbelieve even as they disbelieve, that ye may be upon a level (with them). So choose not friends from them till they forsake their homes in the way of Allah; if they turn back (to enmity) then take them and kill them wherever ye find them, and choose no friend nor helper from among them

What does that mean? Well, it’s actually pretty simple: Muslims are not allowed to befriend non-believers, unless they need to do so for their own security. In a country where Muslims are highly outnumbered, it’s in their best interest to pretend to be friends/friendly to infidels. But once they feel secure enough, they are instructed to kill the non-believers.

It’s also apparently ok for Muslims to lie to non-believers about friendships, and their intentions.

What does this have to do with the mosque, you ask? Well, those “extremists who are terrorists” (which, as you can see is not so extreme) sure felt secure enough to kill those who they considered to be infidels, on our own soil.  What’s going to happen when this mosque is built? How much more secure are they going to feel? How blinded by “tolerance” do we need to be, to completely ignore the history of the Muslim religion.

How many people know that when the Muslims “conquer” an area, or an entire country, that they build a mosque as a sign of victory? And that mosque is usually built over the site of the religious “center”?

Let’s take, for example, the Muslims conquering Mecca. They entered the Kaaba, destroyed everything that represented the Meccan religion, and declared it as their own mosque.  It is now the place that all Muslims face during their prayers.

Another example is the conquering of Jerusalem by the Muslims. They built their mosque on the Temple Mount, now known as the Dome of the Rock.

How about the Siege of Damascus? Yep, same thing. Only this time it was the basilica of St. John the Baptist that was torn down for a Muslim Mosque.

Obviously, we don’t have a “religious center” here in America. The closest thing for us is our economic center, which was the WTC. And since there is no way in hell that anything but a memorial will be allowed to be built on Ground Zero, the Muslims had to go to Plan B: get as close as possible to the “center”.

Now, knowing that they’re allowed to lie about their intentions, and their history of building their mosques as a sign of victory, and their desire to Islamicize the West, how can anyone really believe that this a good thing for NYC or for America as a nation?

“Oh, but you’re just being as intolerant as the Right-wing nut jobs”, some will say. My response: Being tolerant doesn’t mean being naive and ignorant of the facts. Being tolerant doesn’t mean that we just allow Muslims to change our laws to suit their religious intolerance. Being tolerant doesn’t mean that we lay ourselves down and become doormats.

Nobody is telling anybody what they should or shouldn’t believe.

But have a little common sense people! And some TACT. Please don’t support this mosque. Tell them to take it elsewhere.

And for my fellow Liberal Democrat brothers and sisters, please do what you do so well, and RESEARCH THIS … just like you’d expect the Repukes to do.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

UPDATE 7/30/10:  This article has recently come to my attention.
http://www.examiner.com/x-34822-Newark-Religion–Social-Issues-Examiner~y2010m5d28-Have-we-been-told-the-truth-about-the-911-mosque

Also, the Anti-Defamation League has issued a statement.
http://www.adl.org/PresRele/CvlRt_32/5820_32.htm

Because their server is spastic, at best, today, I’ve taken the liberty of copying what they’ve said:

We regard freedom of religion as a cornerstone of the American democracy, and that freedom must include the right of all Americans – Christian, Jewish, Muslim, and other faiths – to build community centers and houses of worship.

We categorically reject appeals to bigotry on the basis of religion, and condemn those whose opposition to this proposed Islamic Center is a manifestation of such bigotry.

However, there are understandably strong passions and keen sensitivities surrounding the World Trade Center site.  We are ever mindful of the tragedy which befell our nation there, the pain we all still feel – and especially the anguish of the families and friends of those who were killed on September 11, 2001.

The controversy which has emerged regarding the building of an Islamic Center at this location is counterproductive to the healing process.  Therefore, under these unique circumstances, we believe the City of New York would be better served if an alternative location could be found.

In recommending that a different location be found for the Islamic Center, we are mindful that some legitimate questions have been raised about who is providing the funding to build it, and what connections, if any, its leaders might have with groups whose ideologies stand in contradiction to our shared values.  These questions deserve a response, and we hope those backing the project will be transparent and forthcoming.  But regardless of how they respond, the issue at stake is a broader one.

Proponents of the Islamic Center may have every right to build at this site, and may even have chosen the site to send a positive message about Islam.  The bigotry some have expressed in attacking them is unfair, and wrong.  But ultimately this is not a question of rights, but a question of what is right.  In our judgment, building an Islamic Center in the shadow of the World Trade Center will cause some victims more pain – unnecessarily – and that is not right.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Update 8/3/10:
Controversial ‘Ground Zero Mosque’ Gets Green Light From NYC Landmarks Commission

I welcome comments, however, I will not be around to reply and/or moderate very much. So please keep it civil!  Any drama brought from other blogs will be deleted. I do not tolerate drama or harassment on my blogs. Thank you for being considerate.

  1. February 6, 2011 at 5:02 am

    i reckon it should be built, just to punish all those people who didn’t want it, but didn’t actually do anything about it .. LOL

    isn’t there already an Islamic centre like, four blocks away from the WTC?

    • February 6, 2011 at 5:16 am

      Gee, thanks … I didn’t want it, but aside from bitching, there wasn’t much I could do. Why do I have to be punished? 😉

      Yes, there are other Islamic centers close to the WTC, but they were there before 9/11. This one … it just … well, I think I explained myself pretty well.

      This is one of my archived blogs from MySpace. I debated even putting it here, but decided it’s a part of me, my voice, my blogging. You should have seen the discussion (argument/debate) that was had over on MS because of this blog, and the one WBF did which I was replying to (and has since been deleted 😦 ). It was intense, to say the least.

  2. February 7, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    Dear Shelli, after many years if studying the Quran and having many Muslim friends. I just can’t agree with you. I understand where you are coming from. Peace, howie

    • February 8, 2011 at 2:56 am

      That’s ok Howie. Nobody says friends have to agree on everything. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

