The week from hell

This week has been absolutely nuts! Between physical ailments, mental fuzziness, and external events, I’ve accomplished nothing … nada … zippo … zilch.

All week, when I’ve felt up to sitting at my computer, I have every intention of knuckling down and doing what I need to do. Then the brain gets all gooey, I can’t focus, I get distracted or I simply can’t remember things.

Yeah, it’s been so bad, I have relied on a dictionary and my Husband for the simplest of words that my brain can’t conjure up.  I don’t know what that means, and I’m actually worried that I should probably be talking to my doctor. But I’m too stubborn to go to my doctor, unless I’m really really really sick or injured. I keep saying, “if I feel like this tomorrow, I’ll call the doctor.”  Then tomorrow comes, and I say the same thing. Day after day after day.

People who really know me, know how pig-headed I can be about most things. Of course, some things are simply out of my control.

Like my computer monitor signing it’s own death warrant. For a month or more, it’s been flickering like it wants to shut off, but manages to stay on. It was happening more frequently, and was becoming more intense. As luck would have it, I was right in the middle of typing out an email, when it flickered 3 times, and died. It was actually so loud, it startled both me and Bill.

I had an old monitor in the garage, so we trashed the dead one, and installed the replacement. However, that wasn’t much of an improvement. That one was so bad, I could barely read anything on my screen. So bad, that it caused a massive headache after a few minutes of use.

Luckily, my ex keeps a stockpile of computer parts, and he had a monitor that he was willing to give me. Thinking that the 3rd time would be the charm, we trashed the blurry monitor, and installed the next one. That turned out to be only slightly better. It’s not blurry, doesn’t flicker, but it’s so dark, it’s like I’m wearing sunglasses. Even with the brightness and contrast turned all the way up. I can barely distinguish one color from another on the website now! It looks like the black lagoon.

So, it looks like I’ll be borrowing my Son’s monitor, since he rarely uses his desktop computer any more. However, since this is the first week of school, we’ve been so busy with everything else, I’ve barely had time to do anything I need to do. I didn’t even bother to cook dinner tonight! We nuked some hot-dogs and called it a meal.  😀

I’ll be so happy when Friday gets here. No school till Tuesday, and I can focus on getting some work done on the website.

  1. February 7, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    Dear Shelli, sorry about the monitor. Sometimes technology is a bitch. Peace, howie

    • February 8, 2011 at 2:58 am

      My father was going to give me one of his, told me he’d hold it for me, then for whatever reason, when I was able to go pick it up, he told me he’d given it to someone else. Sometimes, family is a bitch, too. :-\

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

