Home > Circus of Life, Video > Why I Will Never Make a Bet With My Husband Again

Why I Will Never Make a Bet With My Husband Again

Bill and I both worked third shift, and had Tuesday and Wednesday nights off. We typically kept the same schedule all week, regardless of whether or not we were working.

When we first got together, we had only the most basic cable. We had no DVD player or any other form of entertainment , so we would watch those stupid info-mercials in the middle of the night (when we weren’t doing anything else, that is ;-)).

One night, the info-mercial was about love songs or 70’s songs, or some stupid thing that takes you down memory lane real fast! Both of us were singing along, and talking about our memories with each other.

When Dolly Parton and Kenny Rogers’ Islands in the Stream came on, Bill informed me that he liked the other version better. Confused, I looked at him and said, “What other version? Nobody else sang that song!”

Bill said, “You wanna bet?”

I, of course replied, “Yes!”

We negotiated the terms of the bet. With no access to a computer or any other way to prove anything at 3 o’clock in the morning, I was sure it would be a win-win bet for me!

I was wrong.

Dead wrong!

My smart-ass Husband jumped off the couch, flew out the front door, and got into the truck.

I was stunned, not knowing what he was going to do.

Then he comes running back into the house, and throws this huge CD case on the couch, unzips it, and starts rifling through his collection.

Imagine my surprise when he pulls out a Bee Gees CD, tosses it in the player, and picks the track for Islands In The Stream.

Needless to say, I lost that bet!

And I refuse to bet him anything … ever … again.

 

 

 

 

  1. March 3, 2011 at 7:29 pm

    wow! love the Bee Gees version, the guitar solo was great 😀

    • March 3, 2011 at 11:31 pm

      I felt like a dumbass (still do occasionally), that I didn’t know Dolly and Kenny’s version was a cover! But in my defense, I was never a fan of the Bee Gees. 😉

  2. March 4, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    Dear Shelli, I just don’t bet. I don’t like losing. Peace, howie

    • March 8, 2011 at 1:40 am

      Good way to think about it, Howie! LOL

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

