Home > Photo, Recipe, Trackbacks > Stuffed Portobello

Stuffed Portobello

I really should have entitled this post “Stuffed Portobello for Dummies” because it’s such an easy recipe that even a complete idiot in the kitchen (me*) can cook it!

My neighbor came home with some large boxes filled with mushrooms the other night (apparently she’d gotten a fantastic deal on them) and asked me if I’d like a few. She gave me about a dozen button and 2 portobello mushrooms.  I love mushrooms, but other than putting them on salads or pizza, I don’t know what to do with them. I knew I’d have to find a recipe that was easy, since my husband hates mushrooms and wouldn’t be too eager to help me cook them.

So, off to Google I go. At first, all the recipes I came across were for grilling them like a steak. Unfortunately, we don’t own a grill. Instead of digging through hundreds of recipes that didn’t apply to me, I eliminated “grill” from the search, and this was the first recipe I found. It looked tasty and easy, just what I was looking for! Bonus: it didn’t contain any ingredients I’m allergic to!

All credit for this recipe goes to AKR at Treat a Week Recipes. I just did some slight tweaks for financial reasons, and halved the recipe. My edits in bold.

Serves 4

Ingredients
4 portobello mushroom caps
2 tablespoons olive oil – [vegetable oil]
3 cloves garlic, minced – [a few shakes of garlic powder]
4 ounces fresh spinach leaves – [frozen chopped spinach]
1 cup ricotta cheese or 7 ounces low-fat cream cheese
1/8 cup fresh parmesan, grated – [pre-grated, already in a container kind]
1/4 teaspoon garlic salt
1/2 teaspoon dried basil – [pesto seasoning]
1/8 chili powder (or to taste)
1/4 teaspoon black pepper (or to taste)
1/4 teaspoon salt (or to taste)
1 egg, beaten (omit if using cream cheese)
8 tablespoons bread crumbs (can use non-gluten bread crumbs), seasoned with salt and pepper – [I found that 1 tablespoon was more than enough for each mushroom]
1/4 cup mozzarella, shredded – [slices of mozzarella]

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350F.
2. Using a paring knife, remove stems from all mushroom caps. Wipe down mushrooms with a wet cloth to remove all dirt. Do not wash or rinse mushrooms. Set aside.
3. In a medium skillet, heat oil and sauté garlic until fragrant. Add spinach and cook until shrunk down. Remove from heat.
4. In a small bowl, mix ricotta cheese or cream cheese and parmesan. Season to taste with garlic salt, dried basil, chili powder, black pepper and salt. Mix well.
5. If using ricotta, mix in egg.
6. Add spinach to cheese mixture. Mound mixture into mushroom cap. Top with 2 tablespoons of bread crumbs per mushroom, followed by mozzarella cheese.
7. Bake in a cake tin or roasting pan for 15-20 minutes until the mozzarella has turned golden brown.
8. Cool for 5 minutes and serve warm.

His plate

Then I sautéed the button mushrooms in butter, and seasoned them with chili powder, garlic & pepper, and onion powder. I drizzled a small amount of the leftover juices over the stuffed portobellos, and voilà – dinner for me and the boy!

My plate

In case you’re wondering about the different sized portobellos, it’s because they were given to me at two different times, and we didn’t compare sizes. My Son was the genius who came up with the idea to cut each in half, so we’d both get an equal amount to eat.

Using ingredients we already had, the mushrooms that were a gift, and a couple of things we had to buy especially for this recipe, we spent roughly $4 total for what may have cost $20 a plate in a restaurant.

Now, whose turn is it to do dishes? Any volunteers?!

*Disclaimer: my Son read the ingredients to me and did the math to halve the recipe, and my Husband showed me how to beat an egg. Hey, don’t judge me! ;-D

  1. June 17, 2012 at 1:48 am

    Om nom nom nom nom! I ❤ ❤ ❤ mushrooms.

  2. June 20, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    Very nice recipe… smaller ones would make a great side dish in a meal too 🙂

    • June 22, 2012 at 2:01 am

      Thanks! They were more than enough for a meal on their own. I might have to see if I can find smaller ones for another meal sometime. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

