Home > Circus of Life, Medical > PACs … and not the political kind

PACs … and not the political kind

The doc just called to let me know the results of the Holter Event Monitor that I wore for a month. She said almost everything came back normal, but there was 1 instance recorded of a PAC, which could explain the sensations I’m having.

After reading a few things about it, it does sound pretty much like what I’m feeling. Everything I read says it’s normal, and that only in rare cases does it indicate something more serious.

But since there was only 1 instance of a PAC being recorded, does that put me back at square one, with still no official reason for the ER visit 2 months ago? Was the 1 recorded PAC a fluke, having nothing to do with anything? Or did the Holter Event Monitor just not catch it every time, and this really is the only thing “wrong” with my heart?

It doesn’t explain the shortness of breath, racing heartbeat, and the numbness on my right side the night I called for an ambulance. What caused those symptoms?

Should I pursue this further, or just let it go for now? I will have another appointment with my doc soon, and maybe by then I’ll have worked this all out, and will be able to come to a decision. For now, though, I’m filled with more questions than answers.

Sources:

 

  1. September 10, 2012 at 1:20 pm

    Any chance the symptoms were due to anxiety – panic attack? Too much caffiene? If not, I would certainly pursue more info…ask about having an installed defibrillator like mine:)

    • September 11, 2012 at 3:32 am

      No, it was definitely not a panic attack. I’ve had plenty of them in the last few years, and know exactly what they feel like. Not any more caffeine than normal, either. I think I’ll pass on the defibrillator, if I have a choice. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

