Home > Friends, From the Heart, Trackbacks > Something for me

Something for me

After my last post, I had quite a few people who said I should do something for myself. As luck would have it, this past week has been full of things for me, so to speak. I’ll break it down into 3 separate posts, so check back tomorrow for part 2.

Given to Me

Mindy @ The Suburban Life started my week off great by awarding me with not one, but two blogger awards! As I stated in her comments, I was flummoxed! I’ve been at this blogging thing since 2006, in various places, and not once have I ever received an award for anything! So, to Mindy, I want to extend a most heartfelt THANK YOU! You absolutely made my week!

I’m not sure of the rules, but since you’ve already received them yourself, it would be a bit redundant to give them to you again. Ya know what: fuck the rules! I’ve never been one to follow them anyway. You have ranked in my top 3 blogs to read since I first found you, so you deserve these awards again. Consider yourself awarded, my friend!

The first award is the Lemonade Stand Award. Not knowing the history of this award, I can only surmise that it meansΒ  “When life gives you lemons, vent about it on your blog!”. Or something like that. That’s the way I see it, anyway.

Lemonade Stand Award

Lemonade Stand Award

– Put the Lemonade logo on your blog or within your post.
– Nominate at least 10 blogs with great attitude or gratitude.
– Link the nominees within your post.
– Let the nominees know they have received this award by commenting on their blog.
– Share the love and link to the person from whom you received this award.

The second award is the Best Blog Award. I’m still trying to figure this one out. What does it mean? Surely nobody thinks that I’m the “best” at anything. Except bitching and moaning about life. Oooohh! I get it now! Nevermind, forget I ever questioned it! I am the best at that!Β  πŸ™‚

Best Blog Award

Best Blog Award

The rules for this award require me to nominate up to 15 blogs to share in my acclaim.

Since I don’t read a whole lot of blogs, my list is a bit shorter than it probably should be. I wish I had more time to follow all the blogs I’ve ever read, but that’s just an impossibility. I try to make time each week to read new blogs. Really, I do! But what usually ends up happening is that I put them in my blog reader, read my favorites, and then it’s bedtime. I mean, really people, you all are so good at what you do (and so prolific), that it’s all I can take in in one week. That’s a compliment to everyone on my list! Seriously! You’re all just too. damn. good. You give me something to aspire to.

And so, without further ado, I would like to bestow these awards on the bloggers that make me laugh, think, cry and commiserate on a daily basis.

booshy
Dan McGinley

Greta Christina’s Blog

IttyBittyCrazy

LIVING ME 101

Random Notes

saying it anyway
shutterboo
Snerkology
The Absence of Alternatives
The Real Owner
The Sunny Skeptic
This is My Life, Really?!

They’re in alphabetical order, ’cause I didn’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings. It’ll be my little secret who my top 3 are. *grin*

β‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆβ‰ˆ

About me

While organizing my list of blogs that I faithfully read, I realized that my Blogroll wasn’t updated to reflect my favorites. That’s been fixed. Have a look; see if you find a new blog to enjoy!

Also, if you’ve looked at my “About” tab, you may have seen the link to my mEgo. Clicking on it should have taken you to the fully functioning mEgo to explore. Unfortunately, they changed their links, which caused mine to be broken. It’s fixed now. My apologies to anyone who may have been confused.

  1. January 31, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    Dear Shellie, Your humility is amazing. You are very good. I am working at it and I am looking to you for pointers. Peace, howie

    • February 1, 2010 at 1:01 am

      Howie, thank you! I didn’t forget about you and your blog. I’m still trying to figure out how to cross-reference my MySpace blogs with my WordPress blogs, without inadvertently revealing this blog to my stalker mother and sister. Any ideas?

      Oh, maybe I can give the award to my circle of bloggers on MS, and have them link to my blog there? I’m sure Mindy will understand if I don’t credit her on MS, explicitly, for my protection AND hers.

      But please, Howie, consider yourself awarded as well! You’re one of my favorite bloggers! Yes, in all seriousness! πŸ™‚

    • February 1, 2010 at 1:02 am

      Oh, almost forgot, you are my only cross-over between my 2 blogs. That I know of, anyway. I really appreciate that!

  2. February 1, 2010 at 5:32 am

    Shelli, congratulations! You definitely deserve these lovely awards. I hope this is confirmation enough that you have faithful readers that you should not abandon any time soon.

    πŸ™‚

    I am honored. Thank you so much for passing the awards to me.

    • February 1, 2010 at 5:42 am

      Thank you! And you definitely deserve the awards too! I’m still in shock that I have readers! LOL

      Not to worry, I have no plans on going anywhere any time soon. I think I’ve finally found my “home” here. Especially now that you’ve all gotten a peek into the warped cavern that I call my mind. πŸ˜‰

  3. February 1, 2010 at 7:47 am

    Yay!! Thank you! I’m so honored. Redundant or not, it always makes you (the collective you) feel awesome to get an award. Because well, IT’S AN AWARD…and also because it makes you feel appreciated, which is also important.

    Totally not fair about keeping your top 3 TOP SECRET…that’s ok. In ABC order I’m first, so that’s awesome. πŸ˜‰

    • February 1, 2010 at 4:20 pm

      You’re very welcome! You have a brand of humor that’s so honest and refreshing! I couldn’t give out an award without thinking of you! πŸ˜‰

  4. February 1, 2010 at 7:59 am

    Hi Shelli,
    Whoa. Why didn’t I ever hit on your name to follow a link to see the blog that swallowed a fly that swallowed a spider to catch the fly and however else that crazy poem goes that my daughter sings! Thank-you thank-you thank-you for the blog award, and you just made my morning (unless the dentist gives me laughing gas later, which is a distinct possibility),

    I’m loving this blog, Shelli! I’ve gotta get said daughter off to school, but I’ll be back to catch-up, and now I’m going to tap this great site into my “favorites”. You rock and roll! This is like driving into a wonderful new town, stopping for lunch, and making a great new friend. Thanks so much!!!

    • February 1, 2010 at 4:26 pm

      Dan, I totally understand being usurped by the laughing gas at the dentist! LOL See, that’s one of the reasons I enjoy reading your blog … you’re just as nutty as I am! I’m glad you’ve found something here in Crazy Town that you’ve enjoyed. Stop for lunch any time. I promise you, no crazy mailmen here; no fear of walking past the gate. πŸ˜‰ Oh, and you’re very welcome!

  5. February 1, 2010 at 8:32 am

    Wow. That is a first for me as well and I most certainly appreciate the kudos! Shelli, thank you for reading. I wasn’t sure really anyone was paying attention until you said to keep it up! πŸ™‚ Thank you. You deserve the awards given and you ARE a wonderful writer and so very appreciated!

    ABC is good… ::whispering:: but you can tell me! ((lol)) J/K

    Have a wonderful day!

    PS. Happy Candlemas and Imbolc for those of you who celebrate.

    • February 1, 2010 at 4:34 pm

      You’re most welcome! Isn’t it a shock to find out that people are actually reading what you have to say?! LOL I’m not sure how I originally found you, but what kept me coming back was something you said:

      “For years I worried about the backlash from friends and family over what I thought or believed in, but now I find myself stronger and willing to say it anyway!”

      That’s what I love about reading you … you put it all on the line, damn the consequences. A woman after my own heart! Definitely keep on doing what you do so well, and I’ll keep reading. πŸ™‚

  6. Leah Kleylein
    February 1, 2010 at 9:36 am

    Thanks for thinking of me Shelli!!!!! πŸ™‚

    • February 1, 2010 at 4:37 pm

      You’re so welcome Leah! It’s actually because of you that I decided to branch out further than MySpace. You inspired me to spread my wings. So, thank YOU, my old friend. Well, not old. At least not older than me. How about “long time” friend? LOL ‘Scuse me while I go remove my foot from my mouth. πŸ˜‰

  7. February 1, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    Hey, Shelli! Glad to see you posted your awards. I have no idea what they are supposed to mean, necessarily, other than giving us a much-needed boost! I nominated your blog mainly because you are so real and I appreciate your honesty. It’s refreshing to read something written from somebody’s heart rather than out of their you-know-what. Keep on keepin’ on lady! =)
    Mindy
    http://www.thesuburbanlife.com

    • February 1, 2010 at 5:29 pm

      Mindy, a much-needed boost is definitely what you gave me! After wallowing in my own funk for over a week, you giving me the awards was what helped pull me up out of it. I’m still not 100%, but then, who ever is? I’m glad that you appreciate my honesty; some have called it too blunt, that I should keep some things to myself. But then I wouldn’t be true to myself. To borrow from booshy’s tags, what I write is probably something better left for therapy. I guess you’re all my therapists now. πŸ˜‰

  8. February 1, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    Shelli,
    Congrats on the awards!!!! You definitely deserve them! I have very much enjoyed getting to read your blogs and getting to know you. All your readers love reading what you have to say, so please keep the posts coming! I am also very honored that you thought of me! Thank you so much! πŸ˜€
    PS- I have checked out your mEgo, I learned a lot more about you. It is a pretty cool site there.

    • February 1, 2010 at 5:37 pm

      “All your readers” … that still just makes me giggle. Or fills me with fear. Not sure which, just yet. I’ll let it settle a bit more, and get back to ya on that. LOL I’ll try to keep the posts coming, really. I write mostly for me, when the mood hits. Sometimes it hits a little too frequently, and I’m too overwhelmed with life in general, and don’t have the time. Sometimes I have all the time in the world, and not a damn thing to say. Life’s funny like that. I thoroughly enjoy reading your blog as well! Thinking of you for the award was easy! πŸ™‚

      So glad you liked the mEgo! I found that site a loooong ass time ago, and thought the idea was fantastic! Unfortunately, WordPress doesn’t allow Java or Flash on their site, or it would be here the way it’s intended, instead of just having to link to it (which sucks, btw!). It’s like a little business card that you can carry with you wherever you go. And since I’m at so many places online, it’s nice to not have to re-type my “about me” everywhere.

  9. February 1, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    Thanks for thinking of me! πŸ™‚ You also reminded me that I need to clean out my blogroll, too… I should get on that.

    • February 2, 2010 at 3:29 am

      You’re very welcome. It was well deserved! Your brand of humor and sarcasm cracks me up all the time! And you’re as real as it gets. Well done! πŸ™‚

  10. February 2, 2010 at 11:39 am

    Thanks so much for the award!

    And I am embarrassed to say that I didn’t know you had a blog so this is a new discovery for me and one for ME to add to my blogroll!

    I am going to catch up on your musings over the next few weeks.

    • February 2, 2010 at 7:40 pm

      You’re very welcome! Please don’t be embarassed, though. For some reason, when I reply to one of your posts, it doesn’t show my link with my name. It’s completely understandable. πŸ™‚

  11. February 2, 2010 at 11:40 am

    Oh, and I am going to check out your favorites too, not least of all because they have KILLER blog names!

  12. February 10, 2010 at 9:28 am

    Thank you SOO much for the award, Shelli!!!

    Some of my other blogger buds laugh at my “Award Whori-ness” but it sincerely warms my heart that people not only take time out of their day to read what I bitch and complain about.. but also like it enough to give an award to!

    Hugs and Kisses to you …

    And enjoy the snow … we’re getting more!!!

    • February 11, 2010 at 1:40 am

      You are very welcome! It was very much deserved! And shush about getting more snow! Mother Nature is sure being a huge bitch right now! 2 feet on Saturday, 18+ inches today (don’t know totals for sure, as it’s a blizzard, and my “measuring pile” kept getting blown around!), and more expected on Monday! We’ll never get dug out!

  1. February 16, 2010 at 6:15 pm

Leave a comment