Hibernation

Last week, I received a call from Matthew’s science teacher. She began telling me about some problems she was having with him. As she’s talking, my eyes are getting wider and wider; my jaw closer and closer to the floor. I simply could not believe what I was hearing. I responded with how sorry I was, and that I would do whatever was necessary to correct his behavior. I explained that it was so incredibly out of character for him to behave that way. We talked about his being home-schooled through 2nd grade, and the reasons why he was finally enrolled in a regular school (even though it was a Charter School).

Then the funniest thing happened. She audibly gasped and then became silent. I could hear papers rustling on her end. Finally, she said, almost sheepishly, “I am so sorry! I think I’ve called the wrong Matt’s parents! Does your son have blonde hair?”. Um, no, he has very dark hair. I now know way too much about this other Matthew’s behavior, and I feel terrible for his parents.

We stayed on the phone for a while longer, discussing how well my Matthew is doing in her class, and that she enjoys his presence. All the while, the kid was sound asleep. He’d gone to bed almost as soon as he got home from school, claiming that he was just exhausted. When I told the teacher that school was wearing him out, she exclaimed, “We’re all worn out these days! I think with all this snow and cold weather, we’ve all gone into hibernation mode!”

I couldn’t agree more! Here in the Mid-Atlantic region, we’ve been walloped with more snow in a month than we’ve seen in the past several years combined! It’s unreal. Just before Xmas, we got 2 feet of the stuff. Then a few times during January, we had 3 – 4 inches each time. Luckily, it warmed up just enough to melt those little snow events, shortly after they happened. On February 3, we were again hit with about 6 inches. A nuisance for sure, but we could deal with it. It was melting, the sun was out. And we were preparing for an even worse storm. Of course, nobody really believed we’d get as much as they were calling for.

Wrong! Very very wrong! On February 5, it started snowing. It didn’t stop until we had 2 more feet dumped on us. Our first blizzard of 2010.

1st blizzard 2010

My little slice of the snow pie (click - full size)

I’d been shoveling for days. We have one door to our apartment. It opens directly out onto our porch, which we share with our neighbor. We have 1 inch of clearance between the bottom of the door and the floor. We have to shovel, almost continuously, or we’ll be stranded in our house. I was tired of shoveling, let me tell you! All of the storms we’d gotten were happening in the middle of the night, when Bill is at work, and when everyone else is dead asleep. It was completely up to me to keep shoveling.

But Mother Nature wasn’t done with us yet. Oh no! Less than a week later, we were hit with our second blizzard of 2010!

2nd blizzard 2010

Another slice of the snow pie.

You see the little purple dot in the central eastern part of the county? Yeah, that’s where we live. That freaky little pocket that I mentioned before, where we get more than what’s predicted. At least now I have proof!

We weren’t even completely shoveled out of the first one! And it certainly hadn’t been warm enough to even attempt to melt anything from the first blizzard. And this one was worse than the first! This one had roads closed by order of the Governor. The area was at a complete and utter stand-still. Schools closed for 3 days. Some schools had early dismissal on Tuesday. The wind was fierce. So bad, that I didn’t dare take my camera out to take any pictures. Actually, I didn’t see many pictures posted by my friends, either, so I guess we all took the same precautions.

This storm took it’s toll on us, physically and emotionally. Bill attempted to go to work (’cause he’s responsible like that), and found that, for the first time in the history of our Walmart, it was closed! With no notification to employees! He drove the 11 miles there, found the doors locked up tight with not a soul around. The parking lot hadn’t been plowed, so when he tried to turn around, he didn’t see a pole, and smashed into it (driver’s side door). Not much damage, thankfully. But one very pissed off Husband, let me tell you! We later found out that they been ordered out of the building earlier in the day because there was too much snow on the roof, and it was unsafe. And not one person thought it important enough to grab a list of employees and phone numbers. No, that would have showed that our managers have common sense!

It was at this point that I damn near blew a gasket. I’d spent the whole night shoveling, trying to keep ahead of it. By around 8a, I was exhausted and in dire need of sleep. I was worried about how much snow we’d get during the day, and if we’d be able to open our screen door. When I woke up, I threw on my coat and opened the inside door. Peering through the window, I saw that the porch had been shoveled! Thinking it was about time our neighbor (a young healthy man in his early 20’s) took on a little of the work, I knocked on his door to thank him. But nope, he wasn’t the one who shoveled! Turns out, it was our landlord! I was happy that our landlord cared enough about us to shovel us out, but seriously pissed that our neighbor had, once again, not lifted a finger to shovel. Not once! He even stood and watched me as I shoveled our shared stairs, never asking if I wanted a break or needed any help. Just stood there waiting for me to finish!

By Friday, people were back out on the roads again. Well, some people. Those whose road had been plowed. We didn’t realize how bad things were until Saturday, when we attempted to go to my father’s house, about 1/2 hour southeast of us. One of the major roads that we usually take still hadn’t seen a plow! Good thing for 4 Wheel Drive, ’cause we would have had some serious problems getting turned around! We did make it to my father’s, eventually. And good thing, too, because he helped us fix a potentially costly problem with our truck. (Yay for dads that know how to fix vehicles!)

It’s now been 2 weeks since our last blizzard. And guess what? Yep, we’re in line for blizzard number 3. It’s currently flurrying outside. But the weather people in 3 different locations (Philadelphia, Harrisburg and Lancaster) can’t seem to agree on how bad this one is going to be. All agree that it’s a “backwards feeding storm”, and that it’s gonna be a bad one, but not anything else. And none have a fucking clue how bad it’s going to be for us here in Lancaster County! So, going by the best case to the worst case scenario, we could be looking at anywhere from 3 inches to 12 inches; very windy to blizzard conditions; starting anywhere from 5am to 3pm. Since it started snowing at 2am, I’m preparing for the worst again.

I’ve had enough! I’m a hot weather person! 70° is too cold for me. I like it at 90° or above!

One of my friends posted a status message on Facebook tonight, wondering who pissed off Mother Nature so much that we’re receiving this bad of a punishment. I’d like to know the answer to that, too! I’m starting to lose my sanity here. This really is too much!

  1. Jenapher
    February 25, 2010 at 7:21 am

    I really feel for you, I hate too much snow myself. That was funny what happened with the teacher…I even read that to Nelly.

    • February 25, 2010 at 8:08 pm

      I’m jealous of you, living in Florida! *pout* I don’t think you’ll ever have that kind of a problem once your kids are in school. But if you do, hopefully you’ll remember to ask “are there any other kids of the same name?” LOL

  2. February 25, 2010 at 9:35 am

    It’s funny (or not) how dire circumstances really show the true character of people. Your neighbor should be shot on principle, the Wal Mart showed how much they really care, and your landlord is a great guy. Unbelievable. I found that so true out in the field, surveying. Any one of them could die tomorrow . . . I wouldn’t give a damn. Sad, huh? Under any tough conditions, they would cave and look out for numero uno. Unreal. Lessons learned. Sounds like you all need a break! GREAT post, Shelli!

    • February 25, 2010 at 8:51 pm

      I tried to “get back” at my neighbor (I’m not usually a vindictive person, but he really pissed me off) by not shoveling in front of his door. It’s difficult to explain, but our doors are at an L to each other; we share the porch and the stairs are between us (we’re 2nd floor apartments with garages below us). By not shoveling in front of his door, it would have sent a clear message. But Bill decided to be a nice guy and shovel anyway. I know I married a gem, but damn!

      Honestly, did you think that Walmart cared about anyone, much less their employees? They made everyone take a personal day or vacation time or an unpaid day off, too! And, they refuse to fix the damage to our truck. It’s their fault he was there in the first place! If they’d only called, he wouldn’t have attempted it … and they know full well, out of everyone in that building, HE will be the one to make it there in foul weather. Grrr!

      Our landlord is great! He’s only responsible for our driveway, not our “personal” space. I called to thank him – I have manners (unlike my neighbor). A break would be so nice. Can you put in a word for me with Mother Nature? 😉

  3. February 25, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    Talk about relief! I am sure the whole time while the teacher was talking to you about “your” son, you were thinking in your head that there has to be some sort of mistake. And then to hear that it was a mistake! Phew!
    I am feeling for you! All that snow, and cold! I hope that the end is in sight for you, spring is fast approaching, and I hope that this means this will all melt away and shortly be nothing more than a memory. I am sorry to hear about Bill driving to work, find it closed, and then hit a pole. Very good to hear that it wasn’t bad, and that he was okay! If it makes you feel any better, we in the south are dealing with the cold too. Sending you warm, snow-melting thoughts!

    • February 26, 2010 at 2:26 am

      Relief doesn’t even begin to cover it! I was pissing myself with embarrassment at first! 😀 Thanks for the warm thoughts! We definitely need them right now! I’m worried that by the time we’re able to move to Florida, it will be just as cold as it is here! Yikes!

  4. February 25, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    I’ll try to give you a shout out to Mother Nature, but she’s kicking our butts tonight, and tomorrow. If you ever want to read a great story about a former employee’s revenge on Wal Mart, go to Joe the Peacock’s site and look-up “Wal Mart Story”. It’s absolutely hysterical! —

    http://books.google.com/books?id=y7rzRilKn7kC&pg=PA1&dq=Mentally+incontinent&sig=0cnuLxa0HjP3cQ3raqbHjNF8E4k#v=onepage&q=&f=false

    Enjoy!

    • February 26, 2010 at 3:18 am

      Yeah, I think you guys are actually getting the brunt of the storm this time. 😦 So sorry.

      I just read that Walmart story, and I have to say, that was one of the funniest fucking stories I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading! PRICELESS!! Man, I wish I’d been there to see that! I worked the electronics department overnight, too! Can’t get away with that kind of stuff anymore. Gonna share that with Bill when he gets home in the morning. Thank you for the laugh! I needed it. 😀

  5. February 26, 2010 at 9:32 am

    Since my wife retired we are trying to get all our dental work in before we lose the insurance. Yesterday I went in to find out what needed to be done even if it wouldn’t need to be done for awhile. So yesterday I spent most of the day in the dentists office and today I go back for another long day.
    I hope you can understand why I am taking a two day sabbatical from blogging. Peace, howie

    • February 26, 2010 at 11:38 pm

      Ugh. Dentists. Not my favorite people! LOL Take all the time you need Howie, I’ll still be here when you’re done. 🙂 I hope it’s all painless procedures!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment